Home » Webutuck » Webutuck BOE holds re-org meeting for 2020-21

Webutuck BOE holds re-org meeting for 2020-21

WEBUTUCK — The Webutuck Board of Education (BOE) prepared for the 2020-21 school year at its annual organizational meeting on Monday, July 6, held  via Zoom at 7 p.m. The Oath of Office was administered to District Clerk Tracy Trotter for a period starting Wednesday, July 1, and ending on June 30, 2021. The reorg was immediately called to order with Trotter administering the Oath of Office to both returning and newly elected BOE members Christopher Lounsbury, Judy Moran and Jay Newman. Lounsbury, Moran and Newman will all serve three-year terms starting Wednesday, July 1, through June 30, 2023.

Once they were sworn in, Trotter asked for nominations for board president and vice president for the 2020-21 school year. Moran was returned as president while Nikki Johnson was returned as vice president.

“I’m honored that you were willing to elect me — I appreciate it tremendously,” Moran said.

Trotter administered the Oath of Office to both women, and later to Superintendent of Schools Raymond Castellani.

After Trotter was appointed district clerk, Gazelle Lejeune was appointed treasurer and Mary Clinton was appointed deputy treasurer. Trotter, Lejeune and Clinton’s salaries will be determined per their contract. Louise Giewont was appointed claims auditor and property control manager with a $2,952 stipend and Lorinda Coulthard was appointed attendance officer with a stipend included in her salary. 

Girvin & Ferlazzo was appointed legal advisor while The Workplace was appointed school physician and Barclay and Damon LLP (formerly Hiscock & Barclay) was appointed bond counsel. The Workplace was appointed as the Transportation Department physician and to act on behalf of the district as the school physician as needed. Fiscal Advisors, Inc., was appointed as fiscal advisors, and Sickler, Torchia, Allen & Churchill was the firm named as independent auditor. 

The BOE authorized Castellani to participate in and sign with the New York Schools Insurance Reciprocal (NYSIR), for the policy period starting Wednesday, July 1. 

As part of the appointments for the members of the Committee on Special Education (CSE) and Committee on Pre-school Special Education (CPSE), Director of Student Services/Curriculum and Instruction Jennifer Eraca was appointed director of Special Education/CSE chairperson. School Psychologist Cara Tomasetti was appointed alternate for both the CSE chairperson and CPSE chairperson positions and as the school psychologist. Webutuck Elementary School Principal Jennifer Hengen was appointed the Random Moment Time Study coordinator. Parent members and district certified personnel have yet to be decided.

Castellani was designated the district’s Dutchess Educational Health Insurance Consortium (DEHIC) trustee with Business Administrator Robert Farrier as its DEHIC trustee alternate.

After the reorg closed  the BOE moved forward with its regular business meeting.

More Information

TriCorner News

Copyright The Lakeville Journal
PO Box 1688, Lakeville, CT 06039
All Rights Reserved