Home » Harlem Valley prepares to vote

Harlem Valley prepares to vote

HARLEM VALLEY — Election Day is Tuesday, Nov. 8, and voters around the region have a plethora of candidates to choose from among the numerous local races.

North East

In the town of North East there are a number of positions up for election, including town supervisor, two town councilmen positions, town clerk and town justice.

Incumbent town Supervisor Dave Sherman is seeking re-election (running on the Democratic and Republican lines); he is facing challenger John Merwin (on the North East United line).

For the Town Board seats, incumbent Dave McGhee lost the Republican nomination, but he is running on the North East United line. Planning Board members Chip Barrett and George Kaye (both running on the Republican line) are also running for the two councilmen seats. So, too, are Democrats Jon Arnason and Ralph Fedele.

Incumbent Town Clerk Nancy Davis-Vialpando (a Democrat) is running unopposed to keep her seat; incumbent Town Justice John Crodelle (a Republican backed also by the Democrats) is also running unopposed.


In Amenia, there is a three-way face-off for the town supervisor’s chair. Former supervisor Janet Reagon is running on the Democratic and Working Families lines. Current Planning Board Chairman Bill Flood is running on the Republican line. Current Deputy Supervisor Victoria Perotti is running on the Conservative and Independence lines.

There are two seats open on the Town Board, with three candidates vying for those spots. They are incumbent Vicki Doyle (a Democrat); incumbent Norman Cayea (a Republican who is also on the Conservative line); and C.J. Hoss, (who has the second Democratic line and is also on the Working Families line).

Incumbent Town Clerk Maureen Bonds (a Republican who is also on the Conservative line) is running unopposed. So, too, is incumbent Town Justice Norman Moore (also a Republican).

Another contested race in Amenia is for sole assessor. There are three candidates running, incumbent Ron Gazzoli (a Democrat), Brad Rebillard (a Republican who is running on the Conservative and Independence lines), and Planning Board member Lawrence Moore (running on the Republican line).

Pine Plains

There is a contest for the town supervisor’s seat in Pine Plains this year — which has not been typical during the past decade. Incumbent Gregg Pulver (a Republican) is squaring off against Brian Coons (a Democrat).

Likewise, there is also a race for the two open Town Board seats, with four contenders. They are incumbents George Keeler and Bob Couse (both Republicans). Their challengers are Jim Jackson and Scott Chase (both Democrats).

There are two candidates for the two positions open in the Assessors’ Office, incumbent Jim Mara (backed by both the Democrats and the Republicans) and Rich Diaz (backed by the Democrats).

Incumbent Town Clerk Judy Harpp, a Republican, has been in office since 1989; she is seeking another term. She is unopposed. Incumbent Highway Superintendent Barry Hay, also a Republican, likewise is looking to return to office; he, too, is without challengers.


In the town of Washington there are two men seeking the town supervisor’s seat, Deputy Supervisor Stan Morse (backed by the Democrats and the Citizens for Public Responsibility) and Gary Ciferri (backed by the Republicans and Washington First Party).

Three candidates are seeking full terms on the Town Board, Jeffry Giardina (a Democrat), Robert Audia (backed by the Republicans and Washington First Party), and Albert DeBonis (backed also by the Republicans and Washington First Party). Only Karen Mosca (backed by the Republicans and Washington First Party) is seeking the unexpired term on the board.

Longtime incumbent Town Clerk Mary Alex (on the Republican and Washington First lines) is looking to return to office; she is unopposed. Incumbent Town Justice Elizabeth Shequine (also of those two parties), likewise, wants to do the same. Incumbent Highway Superintendent James Brownell, (Republican, Washington First), is also running for re-election.

In Millbrook Mayor Laura Hurley (Democrat) is running unopposed to return to office.

Three candidates are vying for two open seats on the Village Board. They are, Peter Doro (People’s Party), Robert “Mike” Herzog (Democrat, Community Service Party) and Thomas Whalen (Democrat).

Important dates

Voters will be able to cast their ballots from 6 a.m. until 9 p.m. on Tuesday, Nov. 8, at polling places in their hometowns. (A list of polling places throughout the Harlem Valley is below.) Nov. 8 is also the last day to deliver absentee ballots in person to the Dutchess County Board of Elections in Poughkeepsie. Tuesday, Nov. 15, is the last day for the county Board of Elections to receive mailed-in absentee ballots, which must be postmarked by Tuesday, Nov. 7. For more information call 845-486-2473 or go online to www.dutchesselections.com.

Polling places


1st District A,    Amenia firehouse, 36 Mechanic St., Amenia

2nd District A,    Wassaic firehouse, 27 Firehouse Road,    Wassaic

3rd District A,    V.F.W. Harlem Valley Post #5444, 3422 Route 22,    Dover Plains

4th District A,    Amenia firehouse, 36 Mechanic St., Amenia

North East

1st District A,    NorthEast-Millerton Library, 75 Main St., Millerton

2nd District A, Town Hall, 19 North Maple Ave.,    Millerton

Pine Plains

1st District A,    Town Hall, 3284 Route 199, Pine Plains

2nd District A,    Town Hall, 3284 Route 199, Pine Plains


1st District A, firehouse, 20 Front St.,    Millbrook

2nd District A,    firehouse, 20 Front St.,    Millbrook

3rd District A, firehouse, 20 Front St., Millbrook

4th District A,    firehouse, 20 Front St., Millbrook

More Information

TriCorner News

Copyright The Lakeville Journal
PO Box 1688, Lakeville, CT 06039
All Rights Reserved