Home » Millerton News Regional » Harlem Valley voters re-elect all incumbents to County Legislature

Harlem Valley voters re-elect all incumbents to County Legislature

DUTCHESS COUNTY — From the early hours of the morning until late into the night of Tuesday, Nov. 2, Harlem Valley voters practiced their civic duty when they cast their ballots for their Dutchess County legislators in this year’s election.

Legislative District 19

Longtime Chair of the Dutchess County Legislature Gregg Pulver (R-19) handily won his fifth two-year term in office. A farmer from Pine Plains, Pulver also campaigned on the independent Common Ground line.

Pulver’s challenger — Millerton resident Claire Owens — campaigned for office on the Democratic, Working Families and independent Community First party lines.

According to the Dutchess County Board of Elections’  (BOE) unofficial results posted on the evening of Election Day, out of a total of 3,403 ballots cast in the 19th District, Pulver secured a win with 1,840 votes. Owens, meanwhile, received 1,478 votes.

District 19 includes the municipalities of North East, Stanford, Pine Plains, Milan and Millerton.

Legislative District 25

Dutchess County Legislator Deirdre Houston (R-25) won her third two-year term in the Legislature, running for office under the Conservative party as well.

Her opponent — Democratic newcomer Daniel Hutnick from the town of Amenia — also ran under the Working Families party lines.

In District 25, a total of 3,043 ballots were cast, with Houston receiving 1,613 votes while Hutnick earned 1,187 votes.

District  25 includes the municipalities of Amenia, Washington, Pleasant Valley and the Village of Millbrook.

Legislative District 24

Dutchess County Legislator Alan Surman (R-24) won for his seventh two-year term in office by at least 573 votes. He also campaigned under the Conservative party line as well.

His contender — newcomer Tyler Irish of Dover — ran under the Democratic party line and the Working Families Party line.

Voters in the 24th District re-elected Surman with 1,450 votes out of 2,442 total ballots cast while Irish received 877 votes. There was also one write-in cast.

District  24 includes the municipalities of Dover and Union Vale.

More Information

TriCorner News

Copyright The Lakeville Journal
PO Box 1688, Lakeville, CT 06039
All Rights Reserved